Australia in Africa

The stability, security and prosperity of sub-Saharan Africa are of national interest to Australia. African countries are of global economic and political importance in addressing global economic growth, agricultural productivity, food security and international security. Many African economies are prospering and present increasing opportunities for trade and investment-led development gains for Australia.

Sub-Saharan Africa is a diverse region that faces varying developmental contexts and challenges. Key constraints to economic growth, shared across the continent, including skills shortages, poor enabling environments for business and governance, slow development of key infrastructure, food insecurity and low agricultural productivity, humanitarian crises, as well as gender and other inequalities. These skills shortages are particularly acute at the professional levels. In the public sector, these skills deficits hinder the capacity of governments to deliver services, support sustained growth and address development challenges. To achieve sustained economic growth and competitiveness, more skilled labour and applied industry-related research is required.

Australia’s development assistance is carefully targeted for the greatest impact. It has the capacity to make a difference by targeting sectors where Australian experience and knowledge visibly add value, deepen engagement and continue flexibility and responsiveness within the chosen areas of expertise. Australia Awards is available to a select number of priority countries, in line with the geographical and sectoral focus for Australian engagement in Africa.

Australia is optimistic about Africa’s future. Australia has 9 Diplomatic missions in Africa supporting bilateral relations with sub-Saharan African nations. The first mission, based in South Africa, was opened in 1946.

For more information, please visit: Australia Awards in sub-Saharan Africa

HE Neil Hawkins Egypt

Country Accreditation Egypt, Sudan, Eritrea


HE Peter Doyle Ethiopia

Country Accreditation Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan


HE Andrew Barnes Ghana

Country Accreditation Ghana, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo


HE Alison Chartres Kenya

Country Accreditation Kenya, Burundi, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda


HE Jenny Dee Mauritius

Country Accreditation Mauritius, Seychelles, Comoros, Madagascar


HE Berenice Owen-Jones Morocco

Country Accreditation Morocco


HE Paul Lehmann Nigeria

Country Accreditation Nigeria, Cameroon, Gabon, Benin, Congo, Niger Republic, Mauritania


HE Adam McCarthy South Africa

Country Accreditation Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Angola


HE Bronte Moules Zimbabwe

Country Accreditation Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi


Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch using the contact form.