How we are helping

The awards help build the skills and capacities of Africa’s future leaders in key sectors. In addition, they foster an engaged and influential network of leaders, reformers and advocates, while promoting valuable links between Australia and Africa.

The awards contribute to African leadership and human capacity development in areas of critical skills shortages. All courses are offered in areas where Australia is a world leader and where partner governments have requested assistance, namely in agriculture (including ocean governance), extractives governance and public policy (including trade policy and negotiations, and public-private infrastructure partnerships).

The awards offer Masters Scholarships, tailored Short Courses, and an Alumni program.

  • Masters Scholarships for study in Australia are offered to high-calibre future leaders across public, private and community sectors.
  • Short Course awards are offered as formal courses of study and training for up to two months delivered by an institution in Australia or Africa, or a combination of both.
  • The Alumni program comprises a network of Alumni associations and activities such as ongoing professional development and networking opportunities for registered Alumni.

The awards have a strong focus on equality, emphasising equity and inclusivity for women and people with disabilities. The program’s aim is for an equal number of women and men to receive awards. In addition, the program is recognised for ensuring that people with disabilities, and people working in support of people with disabilities, have access to awards and are well supported while on-Award.

Study in Australia

Explore the possibilities of studying in Australia through the official Australian Government website for international students. Search for courses, institutions and read about studying and living in Australia. You can also watch stories from other students, and learn about Australian education. This website is managed by the Australian Trade and Investment Commission (Austrade).

HE Neil Hawkins Egypt

Country Accreditation Egypt, Sudan, Eritrea


HE Peter Doyle Ethiopia

Country Accreditation Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan


HE Andrew Barnes Ghana

Country Accreditation Ghana, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo


HE Alison Chartres Kenya

Country Accreditation Kenya, Burundi, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda


HE Jenny Dee Mauritius

Country Accreditation Mauritius, Seychelles, Comoros, Madagascar


HE Berenice Owen-Jones Morocco

Country Accreditation Morocco


HE Paul Lehmann Nigeria

Country Accreditation Nigeria, Cameroon, Gabon, Benin, Congo, Niger Republic, Mauritania


HE Adam McCarthy South Africa

Country Accreditation Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Angola


HE Bronte Moules Zimbabwe

Country Accreditation Democratic Republic of Congo, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi


Any questions?

If you cannot find the answer on our FAQs page, feel free to get in touch using the contact form.